FAI TALKS ABOUT SOCIAL MEDIA

Gone were the days we had to call each other or meet up with a friend just to ask “What’s up?”. It seems like everything we do nowadays are going to be publicly displayed on social media, be it through tweets, photo uploads, and even location tagging. Social media has definitely changed the way teenagers lived over the last few years. Now, if you are still someone who still does not have a Facebook account or a Twitter account, well, let’s just say you’re missing out on alot.

Image

Firstly, let’s talk about Twitter. I think I’ve only been active on Twitter since 2 or 3 years ago? When I first heard about it, I thought that it was quite redundant since Facebook was the ‘big’ thing then. I created the Twitter account just for the sake of it, since alot of people started using it. That’s the case with most of us isn’t it? When we hear about this new online platform, of course we are intrigued to check it out. Well, I didn’t really use it much until I got my iPhone. That was when I realised how addicted you can be to it. Okay, perhaps ‘addicted’ isn’t the right word, its more of a platform where you ‘go on to whenever you have nothing else to do’. For example, when you’re alone on the MRT or bus, your natural instinct will most likely be to use your phone, and of course Twitter will be one of the first things you check. I guess what makes it so popular is that its just so simple and easy to use. There’s not much features to it, but maybe that’s the thing which makes it easy. Its just a platform where you scroll and scroll and scroll to see what people are up to, and perhaps tweet your own thought every once in awhile.

Image

Facebook has of course been one of the biggest social media platforms over the past few years. I can’t think of anyone my age now who does not own a Facebook account. The cool thing is, Facebook isn’t even used by only teenagers now, the older generation are also hitching a ride on the social media bandwagon through this platform. Before Facebook stated getting huge, I remember when Friendster was the ‘in’ thing. Facebook of course took over with its better features and functions. From instant messaging, file sharing, to stalking, the online possibilities are almost endless with Facebook. Its even convenient for you to look for a long lost friend and reconnect the loose relations. You don’t even need to meet a person to know a person! It seems like even though I haven’t met a certain friend for quite awhile, it feels like I’ve been meeting them frequently since I can find out what they have been up to through Facebook! Of course, many use Facebook to cyber stalk certain people, just like I do.

Image

The latest craze in social media has of course gotta be Instagram. Although not everyone is using it yet, it is definitely a platform which is fast growing. Its plus point has also got to be its convenience an simplicity! Users can just upload photos anytime anywhere with their smartphones and share it with the world! I’m not sure who started the trend, but it seems like everyone uses Instagram to take photos of their food! Nowadays, what’s important is what your food looks like, and not what it tastes like.

I think social media plays a big part in my life now, especially as a media student. I really can’t imagine communicating without it! I can only imagine the world of social media in the future, and how people are going to turn into social media ZOMBIES!

Till next time:)

xoxo

Leave a Reply

